Animals, Birds, Canon Powershot ELPH 320 HS, Nature, Photo Challenges, Photo Editing, Photography

Found In Nature

Signs of Spring, you can find them here if you are looking hard enough.  I’m on the lookout, so I have noticed the increased number of birds that I can see outside my kitchen window in the morning.  This little sparrow really likes the cover of a pile of sticks we are collecting from a recent storm:

ISO 1600 19mm 0ev f/5.6 1/100

ISO 1600 19mm 0ev f/5.6 1/100

I’ll show you the original in a moment but I decided to convert this image to black and white for Cee’s Black and White Photo Challenge: Found in Nature  I used my point and shoot to get this image. This little bird was pretty still, so I was pretty confident the camera would get a decent shot.

I opened the original in Camera Raw and increased the exposure and the clarity.  Then I converted it to black and white.  From there I opened it in Photoshop, cropped and sharpened it a bit.

Here is the original:

ISO 1600 19mm 0ev f/5.6 1/100

ISO 1600 19mm 0ev f/5.6 1/100

One of the reasons I cropped the photo was to make the bird look like it was in a more natural setting.  I also wanted to make him a little more obvious, since he gets lost a bit in the black and white.  What do you think?  Does black and white work here?

Cheers!

Standard

26 thoughts on “Found In Nature

    • I was concerned that if I cropped to much off there might not be enough to “tell the story” of the surrounds. I gave it some thought anyway, I was just concerned about it being too cropped. Thank you for your honest opinion, I do appreciate it.

      Like

  1. I like the B & W best – and for me – I have not been seeing very many birds – but I keep HEARING them more and more – and it also lets me know spring is a coming….. 🙂

    Like

  2. I knew that spring was just around the corner when I heard the call of a red winged backbird. I couldn’t see him but I could sure hear him. A sure sign of spring in my necj of the woods.

    I am getting excited to see what I’ll get to shoot this spring and summer.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.