Another Day, Another Attempt

So a few days ago, I wrote this post.  I included a version of a picture that I had taken of the snow.  I posted this photo:

ISO 100 50mm -0.67 f/7.1 1/80

ISO 100 50mm -0.67 f/7.1 1/80

Today I am posting this one:

ISO 100 50mm -0.67 f/7.1 1/80

ISO 100 50mm -0.67 f/7.1 1/80

They are the same photo but they have been processed in two different ways.  The first I used Aperture and for the second I created an HDR image using Photomatix.  Usually with HDR images you see quite a dramatic photo.  In this case all I was looking to do was create a slightly different way of presenting the needles and the detail in the snow.  Despite being the same photo there are some pretty significant differences in what each expresses I think.  What do you think? Do you have a preference?  Feel free to leave a comment below.

Cheers!

14 thoughts on “Another Day, Another Attempt

  1. I like the first one the most. The darker, richer green provides more contrast with the snow. I think it conveys more feeling and the second documents what was seen more accurately. Just my opinion, of course. Both are beautiful!

    Like

  2. Ok here’s what I think… Do you want the perseptive to be on the snow or the needles… IE: If you wanted to write something about how the snow looked on the pine trees I think the first one does that best… If you wanted to point out how sharp the pine needles looked… second is best… Just my view… I love both!

    Like

Leave a Reply

