A Beautiful Spot in the Neighborhood

This photo and post were inspired by Sonel who is hosting a weekly black and white photo challenge.  This week’s topic is neighborhood. I took this photo at a park that is in my neighborhood:

ISO 100 50mm 0ev f/3.5 1/160

ISO 100 50mm 0ev f/3.5 1/160

I love that our neighborhood has this green space.  I love even more that a lot of people use it.  It has playing fields, a playground, benches, a walking path, and a pond.  I just think it is healthy for people to spend time outdoors, so it always makes me happy to see so many of my neighbors here.

For this shot, I was thinking that I might want to do a HDR image, so I was using exposure bracketing.  It can be tough to get a flower exactly still so I was using a pretty fast shutter speed.  I was also using the fast shutter speed to cut out some of the light I was letting in by having my aperture so open at 3.5.  I knew I wanted a pretty shallow depth of field though, because I thought the background would distract from the flower if I didn’t.  Even though the background is blurred you can see that there is quite a bit there, imagine how distracting it would be if you could see all that detail.  I merged the three exposures in Photomatix and then did some sharpening in Photoshop.

I liked this shot well enough to then make a 5×7 card of it and put it for sale on my website.

Do you have any thoughts, comments, or questions about my image? feel free to leave them below.

Cheers!

19 thoughts on “A Beautiful Spot in the Neighborhood

  1. I just love wildflowers PJB and that is an absolutely beautiful shot for sure! It seems you have a lovely neighbourhood park for sure! Thank you so much for taking part and for the stunning entry. Much appreciated. 😀 *hugs*

    Like

  2. It is tough to get a flower exactly still!! I usually give up and just hold it still with my fingers! 😛 because I can’t really control shutter speed on a smartphone haha! Nice post : )

    Like

  3. Pingback: Neighbourhood Walk | Isadora Art and Photography

  4. Pingback: Black and white photo challenge : Neighbourhood | restlessjo

Leave a Reply

