Who is Luckier?

So, who is luckier?, the kid who gets to play hockey or the parents who get to watch?

ISO 2500 50mm 0ev f/7.1 1/250

ISO 2500 50mm 0ev f/7.1 1/250

It’s a toss up I would say.

This photo I took at a game this morning.  I’ll show you the original in a moment.  When I take hockey photos, I always start with the white balance on Auto and take a photo of the rink.  Then I use that photo to set the Custom white balance in the camera.  That works in helping set the white balance correctly.  Given the conditions of the rink, I always have a high ISO and fast shutter speed.

When I get the photos on my computer, I open up Photoshop.  I shoot in RAW, so first I open the photo in Camera Raw and do a white balance adjustment.  Then I open the photo into Photoshop and do any cropping that I want.  Sometimes I also do a levels adjustment, although on this photo I did not.  Then I sharpen the photo.  From there I convert my RAW photo to a JPEG.  I make it into a JPEG because that makes it easier to share with other parents on the team.

Here is the original:

ISO 2500 50mm 0ev f/7.1 1/250

ISO 2500 50mm 0ev f/7.1 1/250

So, what do you think? who is luckier? What do you think of my adjustments and workflow?

Written in response to the Daily Post prompt: The Luckiest People

Cheers!

 

18 thoughts on “Who is Luckier?

  1. Pingback: My Dog / Daily Post | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Dad | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: The Grey Farmhouse | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Luckiest People | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  6. Great photo! I’d have to agree that it would be a toss-up as to who is the luckiest! Can’t wait until I figure out my camera and fancy editing so I know what you’re talking about! LOL All in good time. Keep up the good descriptions!

    Like

  7. Smashing picture Amy . Great picture to be able to share . Which one is your youngster I wonder 🙂
    I think I’ll try that white balance tip .. it’s not something I’ve concerned myself with too much at the moment .. when I did try something else out which was suggested in a book I actually got a very definite pink cast over the whole picture :-/ all depends I guess on the subject matter . Thanks for that .

    Like

    • Thanks! You are right that white balance can be a bit tricky to set up. In this case, because I am so often shooting in these conditions, I just make it part of my workflow while I am there. In a lot of other situations, I leave the white balance on auto and just do edits later.

      Like

  8. Oh, definitely the watching and photographing part Amy..hahahah. I would break my neck there on that ice. Great shots hon! 😀 *hugs*

    Like

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Family | Photography Journal Blog

Leave a Reply

