Travel Theme: Blossoms

I live in suburbia.  Over the years I’ve lived in several variations of suburbia.  Whichever variation of suburbia I am living in I like to put native plants and wildflowers in my gardens.  The native plants I put in over the last few years are struggling this season because we had a non-native winter, far colder than usual.  So are first spring flowers this year are not native plants but wildflowers.  I love photographing these blossoms as they appear in the yard. On this particular shoot, I took both of my cameras with me.  This first was taken with my Canon Powershot:

ISO 100 4mm 0ev f/2.7 1/100

ISO 100 4mm 0ev f/2.7 1/100

This version was shot using the color picker setting in the camera. I selected purple and it changed the rest of the image to black and white.  I do wish the camera had picked up more of the purple.  I did love the way the light turned up in this image.  It was beautiful in that particular moment, and I think the camera honored that.  This image was edited in Photoshop, I cropped it and sharpened it.  Here is the original:

ISO 100 4mm 0ev f/2.7 1/100

ISO 100 4mm 0ev f/2.7 1/100

This next flower I shot using my Canon 50D:

ISO 125 50mm 0ev f/2.5 1/400

ISO 125 50mm 0ev f/2.5 1/400

I chose a very shallow depth of field to draw your attention to the front blossom and deal with the very busy background by blurring it.  This photo has also been cropped and sharpened.  Here is the original:

ISO 125 50mm 0ev f/2.5 1/400

ISO 125 50mm 0ev f/2.5 1/400

So, what do you think of my editing?  How is your spring going, did your plants struggle this year? Ours are just now starting to bounce back.

Cheers!

28 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Blossoms

  1. I prefer the ones that are fully coloured. I’ve also tried the color picker setting in my Canon Ixus camera, but I’m not a big fan of the effect. In my opinion it’s better to take a regular photo and then work on it in Photoshop afterwards if you want selective color.

    Like

  2. thanks for the info – and thought I would answer all of your questions for fun….

    So, what do you think of my editing? nice – and I really like hearing about it as well – so thanks for adding that in.

    How is your spring going- nice – May is much better than April – ha!

    did your plants struggle this year? Some did – just a few – but I did lose a bunch of plants that were annuals but stayed alive for years because we usually have mild winters -but with the extra snow and extra cold temps – I lost herbs and even the rosemary bush took a big hit (thought she was gone, but is coming back).

    And glad your plants are “starting to bounce back” – and how fun that you have wildflowers to enjoy – and share with us. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m glad you find the editing info interesting. That is something that I like to read about when I look at other people’s photography. I’m always curious about the settings they use on their camera as well, which is part of the reason why I include it in my blog.
      We were glad to have most of our plants bounce back as well. We had two in particular that were looking horrible. It took them a few weeks, but we are now seeing evidence of new growth.

      Like

  3. Wild flowers never fail to please me … their ability to get through the struggle of winter and put on a wonderful show .
    Love the purple Amy … and how you’ve used the DOF . Did you use your tripod for these ?

    Like

  4. Love the fancy cameras with their color picking settings. Absolutely stunning shots Amy and love the originals and edits all the same. You are such a great photographer! Those flowers looks like they bloomed just for you. Amazing colours! Thanks for sharing. 😀 ♥ Hugs ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

