One, Two, Three!

Sometimes, it takes a few photos and a bit of editing to get to what you intended to create.  The first step is getting the photo. At first I walked past this photo.  Then a few minutes later I thought, “Did I just walk past a leaf shaped like a heart covered in frost and not take a photo?”  The answer was yes, so I backtracked and took this photo:

ISO 25 4.15mm f/2.2 1/50

ISO 25 4.15mm f/2.2 1/50

Hmm, ok, that was shot vertical, so then I tried a horizontal orientation:

ISO 25 4.15mm f/2.2 1/50

ISO 25 4.15mm f/2.2 1/50

Ok, better, but this final version is really what I had in mind:

ISO 25 4.15mm f/2.2 1/50

ISO 25 4.15mm f/2.2 1/50

This in my mind it is a sort of stock image.  One you might see with text of some kind on the right side.  I created it specifically with my Picfair portfolio in mind. When I was processing it, I started with cropping it using the rule of thirds.  In the original photo I shot it with the leaf centered.  I chose to do that in this case, because the background was all the same, but I thought when I took a closer look on my computer one of the sides might be more interesting.  I also removed a little yellow leaf and a bit of frost below the stem that I thought were distracting.  Those edits were done in Photoshop.  I then put the photo in Lightroom and did some additional edits, adding a bit of clarity and warmth.

What do you think of the final photo? I often find that my final photo has several forms before it is finished, is that your experience as well? Have you ever walked past a photo, thought about it, and turned around and went back with your camera out?  Feel free to leave a comment below.

Cheers!

24 thoughts on “One, Two, Three!

  1. Love the final image. There is a timeless feel about it, with the colours monochrome. That is so me – turning around to get a shot after I’ve walked past the subject. A lot of the time I’d also not take one photo, but take a few from different angles, and maybe some close-ups too. I too like cropping because sometimes there is only so much time you have to compose a shot. However, sometimes cropping works against me if I am aiming for a small part of the photo – and that makes the quality of the photo go down and appear more grainy.

    Like

  2. Turned out wonderful, and perfect timing for the season. It seems like I often see things a think, “that would make a cool picture”, I probably take said pictures about 50% of the time. I then spend further time wondering why I didn’t just take a picture. I’m not sure what my reasoning is, most likely I’m just lazy! Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am very new to photography and I assumed 50mm is the lens you used. Then I saw the leaf photo and it said 4.15mm. Is there a lens that small? Sorry if this is a stupid question but I’m very new to this.

    Like

    • Hi 🙂 That’s not a stupid question. This photo was taken with my iPhone, so it is capable of that. You are right to notice that a lot of my photos on this blog are at 50mm, for the most part I use a Canon 50D with a 50mm lens. What camera are you using?

      Like

Leave a Reply

