Animals, Canon Powershot ELPH 320 HS, Flowers, Nature, Photo Challenges, Photo Editing, Photography

Between projects and work and life in general

The theme this week at the WordPress photo challenge is between. I’ve been working on a lot of things lately, too many perhaps, and I have decided that I have to choose between a few of them and make a choice about what I am going to focus on for the rest of the summer.

I was out biking a few weeks ago, and since my point and shoot camera is always with me, I got this shot while I was taking a rest:

4mm 0ev f/2.7 1/250

4mm 0ev f/2.7 1/250

I used the macro setting on the camera and was really pleased with the way the background was blurred, giving the field a bit of a romantic feel.

One of my work projects for this summer is learning Adobe Illustrator.  I’m taking an on-line course that you can do at your own pace.  I created this image from my original photo in Illustrator using Image Trace:

4mm 0ev f/2.7 1/250

4mm 0ev f/2.7 1/250

I imported my .JPEG file photo into Illustrator then chose Image Trace-Low Fidelity Photo.  Then I cropped the image.

I was pleased with the result, but what do you think?  Learning Illustrator is one of the projects that I am having to decide if I want to continue.  What that means though, is that I need to decide between this blog and the Illustrator class.  Because both the blog and class require on-line hours, I feel like I can only do one or the other if I am to keep the rest of my life and work in balance. I chose the class, it was actually a hard choice for me to make, I love writing this blog. I felt in the short term that the class needed to take priority, so this blog will be on hiatus for the rest of the summer.  Since I am behind in follow-up visits to other blogs I am hoping to take a bit of time every day to visit a few.  I am hoping this will keep my in the loop and excited to resume blogging in the fall.

As always, your comments are welcome below, and I would like to thank all of you who have stopped by to take a look at my blog.

Cheers!

Standard

46 thoughts on “Between projects and work and life in general

  1. Michele Bourdeau says:

    Amy – we will miss your blog but every working Mom (and every Mom is by definition a working one!) must make choices between kids and her own ambitions and activities. If learning Illustrator helps you meet some goal, then by all means – go for it! We hope to see you back in this space in the Fall…

    Like

    • This class is work related. It seems to me that Illustrator and Photoshop are good companions when it comes to creating logos, and designing artwork for web use. By learning Illustrator I am just hoping to expand my horizons in that way.

      Like

  2. I understand your need to ‘focus’ on what you want and need to do. I’ve done the same. I cut back on any time I spent on Facebook so that I could spend more time writing. Look forward to your return.

    BTW, both photos are very good. But I like the first photo best because the 2nd looks a little surreal.

    Like

  3. Love the shot of the purple plant. It’s amazing how well photos do come out of a point-and-shoot. You do that very well. Glad you hear you chose the class. Blogging will always be there when you come back 🙂 I am not a fan of having to choose between doing so many things too. But doing them all at the same time is the worst decision we can make. Hope you’re enjoying the class, I’m sure you will 🙂

    Like

  4. poppytump says:

    I’m sure you’ll fun with all that you do over the summer Amy. I can understand well how tricky it must be juggling so much in your life , it always seems very full and busy . Enjoy the course am sure you’ll tell all …
    Lovely pictures btw !

    Like

  5. Great shot! I love the color and the detail. I too am way behind in my blogging comments, due to travel and out-of-town guests. Life has to come first! But bit by bit I am catching up. I hope the class is going well.
    Best wishes!
    Naomi

    Like

  6. I really like your photo – but here again – the story to go with added much for me – and I love when photographers do this – just give us a bit behind the shot – and I can feel the extra summer feel when you note the bike ride pause. speaking of pause – have a nice summer break – enjoy your class and looking forward to your posts later this year.

    ❤ hugs

    Like

    • and I said this on my blog, but need to note it again – thanks again for your spring blogging – because the time you invested in your posts were very special to me in so many ways – and between your posts and Sonel’s nature adventure collages – well I was the better – and I am sure others were too. Blogging rocks – and it makes a difference – we all need to find our balanced groove – but as I pause for a bit too – I am in awe of the rippling effect this blogosphere sharing can have.

      peace out my sista!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.