11-22mm Lens, Canon 50D, made with Luminar, Photo Editing, Photography, Tuesday Photo Challenge

Made with Luminar: Fountain on a Hill

The Fontana dell’Acqua Paolo is sometimes just called “the big fountain” with good reason. It’s pretty big. That creates a photography challenge.  It’s also built on a hill which can make it a challenge to get a photo that looks straight. My original file looks like this:

ISO 640 f/9 1/1250sec 13mm

I’ve used the straighten function within the crop tool and the lens distortion feature in Luminar 3 to deal with that issue:

ISO 640 f/9 1/1250sec 13mm

From there I went to some more creative edits. The Luminar Look applied here is Analog Film. That made for a nice starting point, but it was a dramatic filter, too dramatic for this photo so I’ve made several changes most of which involved moving sliders down. I then added a layer with the filters golden hour, accent ai, and vignette. I’ve used all the filters sparingly. I was looking to boost the natural drama of the fountain in the late afternoon light. Feel free to let me know what you think of the outcome in the comment section below.

The Made with Luminar Series

This image is part of a project I am calling Made with Luminar. What the images in this series have in common is the software used to edit them, Luminar 3. As with my usual blog posts particulars of the camera settings can be found in the caption below the image. The text of these posts include the Luminar “Looks” that have been applied to the photo. Each look is a series of presets that are applied to the photo. Where applicable I will mention what changes I have made to any of the looks. A full explanation of looks is available here on their website, https://skylum.com/luminar/user-guides/chapter-14-working-with-luminar-looks

You can assume other edits have been applied. My most common edits are cropping, detail enhancement, and vignette. Specific questions or thoughts on the image are welcome in the comment section below.

Cheers!

Added to Tuesday Photo Challenge, Slope.

 

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Made with Luminar: Fountain on a Hill

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Photo Challenge – Round Up 186 – Dutch goes the Photo!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.