50mm Lens, Animals, Birds, Canon 50D, Nature, Photo Editing, Photography

Great Horned Owl in Fall

I took this photo and then edited it using Photomatix:

ISO 800 50mm 0.33ev f/1.8 1/640

Unlike the Tawny Owl that I posted earlier this week, I was thinking I would do something a bit more artistic rather than realistic with this image.  So, this was a bracketed exposure that I combined in Photomatix, but then I put this version in the “painterly” setting.  I was looking to create something that really brought out fall colors. Once I was finished with that, I put it in Aperture and cropped, straightened, and sharpened it.

Here is one of the original images:

Cheers!

Standard

7 thoughts on “Great Horned Owl in Fall

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | Photography Journal Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.